Hi! Im new to squirrels. From the uk.

Place for those new to the MessageBoard to tell us about your flying squirrel and yourself!

Moderator: NuttyNelly

tommyfarr
nobotspam: No
How many feet does a squirrel have?: 4

Hi! Im new to squirrels. From the uk.

Postby tommyfarr » Fri Dec 09, 2011 3:09 pm

Hi everyone. Just posted on the squirrel board and they said to head here too, so here i am! My names Tommy, im 22 (i think, lifes a blur after 20!) and I live in the UK.

Ive only kept crested geckos before, ive had three of them for 14 months now. Pascal, Gordan Geiko and Winnebago Barry Tinkleton. They're such sweet things and ive wanted more pets ever since. Anywhos, after loads of searching I found 2 advertisements for breeding pairs in Newark which is in the midlands of england, about 160miles from where i live. I had to go look at them and see.

When i got there they belonged to a lovely old man called Geoff. He's been taking in strays for years, be it degus, chinchillas, chipmunks, ferrets, anything really! He bought 4 flyers last year, a set of 2 sisters and 2 brothers. He put a boy and girl of each together and one set had babies, the other set have not yet. However he was struggling to look after them all with crippling arthritis, his hands were completly folded up, but he genuinly seemed to love all his pets. However with his hands he couldnt keep up with them all, and the cages were a bit of a state. After seeing it all I had to have them if just to give them some more love. So after alot of curfuffle i got them in my car and left! they spent there first night with me in a smaller container with newspaper, food and a bit of substrate, they spent the day snuggled up asleep and the night chirpping and munching hazelnuts.