Hello from Seoul, South Korea!

Place for those new to the MessageBoard to tell us about your flying squirrel and yourself!

Moderator: NuttyNelly

autumnfox
nobotspam: No
How many feet does a squirrel have?: 4

Hello from Seoul, South Korea!

Postby autumnfox » Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:47 pm

I’m an English teacher from the states teaching here in Seoul, South Korea. One of my biggest passions is taking care of animals. I first got my flying squirrel, Mocha, almost 2 years ago from a company which breeds and deals strictly with flying squirrels here in South Korea (Rooblige). It is probably quite different from what you have heard or are used to. I only feed him dried and raw acorns and kale and he doesn't need anything else. This would seem like he lacks nutrition, but he doesn't.
Unfortunately, they keep these squirrels until they are 1 year old, which I have found makes bonding difficult and quite different from what I've learned and read. I do not think he is as bonded to me as people describe with their babies which they got at a very young age. When he is wide awake, he doesn't care too much about being on me all that often, but would rather run around the room and explore. He does love to cuddle in my hand and let me pet him while he sleeps, though.
While they keep them for this year, they give them various immunity shots to ensure their survival. They found that when they brought the flying squirrels from America to Korea and did not give them any shots, they ended up dying within the first year or so. This program they have is extensive and they have sold hundreds if not thousands to squirrels who have lived long and healthy lives in Korea. However, my Korean ability is not good enough to understand their forums completely, so many of my questions cannot be answered. Which is why I've joined this forum.

Nice to meet you all!
Last edited by autumnfox on Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Joan
Site Admin

Re: Hello from Seoul, South Korea!