Pee and Poop behavior and amount

Discussion about Flying Squirrels
Sailor_Orbit
nobotspam: No
How many feet does a squirrel have?: 4

Pee and Poop behavior and amount

Postby Sailor_Orbit » Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:52 am

Sorry if this has all ready been spoken about. If it is please refer me to the link because I was not able to find the things I needed for my questions.

I am new to flying squirrel concepts all together. So I would like to do quite a bit of research before deciding whether to have one or not. I hoping to talk myself out of it, however if it has some ideal behaviors then it would be extremely tempting.

1) Are flying squirrels poop machines? Like poops everywhere, poops all the time, poops on you, poops while walking, poops while gliding. just basically are they poop machines? Like Chinchillas they are definitely poop machines and cannot be poop trained. Pee trained is more likely however 95% no to poop training. Which a lot of pet stores fail to mention. Even breeders fail to mention it as well. So this would be my main concern. Do they poop a lot and make a big mess on the floor? Do they pee everywhere? Can the area outside the cage remain neat? or would there be fecal matter all over the place? Or pee outside of the cage?

2) Are they sensitive to humidity, heat, or cold? I do have an AC unit, however I don't want to freak out thinking about the temperature while I am away at work. Even though I have a thermostat, sometimes my parents only allow the temperature go to 80-85 for AC, even if I try to program it to 75 F

3) do they need dust baths or any specific cleaning regimen? do they need to have their nails trimmed? Do they shed a lot? Do they lose fur when they are scared? like have bald spots in case they get scared when you handle them.